Skip to content


Jerome Walker

Hired by Zohrab Kaprielian, Vice President for Research and Administration, in 1972 as Assistant to the Vice President. As Executive Vice President in 1973, Dr. Kaprielian was given the same authority as future Provosts.

Carole W. Gustin

While Carole was no longer paid to work at USC, her love and commitment to the Trojan Family kept her quite busy. She became Program Chair of the USC Staff Retirement Association in 2003, and in 2005 she became the SRA President, a position which she held until 2009.

Richard F. Martin

Richard F. (Dick) Martin is an active member of the USC Emeriti Center and the Staff Retirement Association, generously donating his time and boundless energy to serve USC’s retiree population.

Jeanne and Bob Church

The J. Tillman Hall Staff Award for Service to USC is presented to Jeanne and Bob Church. Jeanne (Marshall School of Business) and Bob have worked as a team for many years, supporting the Staff Retirement Association (SRA), the Retired Faculty Association (RFA), and the USC Emeriti Center.

Janet E. Eddy

The J. Tillman Hall Staff Award for Service to USC is presented to Janet E. Eddy. Janet’s work history at USC spans an impressive 25 years, and she dedicated the last 10 years of her career as the Director of Disability Services and Programs.

Robert R. Scales

Professor Emeritus Robert R. Scales, Ph.D. is a fellow of USITT (United States Institute for Theatre Technology) and has held full-time positions in consulting and/or technical production and lighting design at professional theatre organizations including Theatre Projects Consultants, McCallum Theatre, Seattle Repertory Theatre, Kansas City Repertory Theatre, Stratford Festival Theatre of Canada, and Guthrie Theatre.

David N. Tool wearing a red vest

David Tool

Presented to Dr. David N. Tool on December 4, 2014 by Dixon Johnson, President, Staff Retirement Organization and Robert A. Stallings, President, Retired Faculty Association.

Melvin A. Astrahan

Following his retirement from the Department of Radiation Oncology as Chief of Medical Physics in 2010, Professor Emeritus Melvin Astrahan, Ph.D. has continued to support the ocular melanoma program by donating his time and expertise to assure the success of his colleagues in the Departments of Ophthalmology and Radiation Oncology.