USC Faculty Lifetime Achievement Award




The USC Faculty Lifetime Achievement Award honors up to four retired faculty each year for their eminent careers. Since its inception in 1982, the award has been bestowed upon 121 retired faculty from the arts and humanities; social sciences; science, technology, engineering and mathematics; medicine; and other professional disciplines.

Active and retired faculty, administrators and staff, and friends of the university are urged to make nominations. Awards are conferred at the annual Academic Honors Convocation every April. The Faculty Lifetime Achievement Award includes an honorarium of $2,000, an illuminated scroll setting forth the honoree’s contributions, and a citation in the Honors Convocation program, all provided through the generosity of the administration of the Provost.

2021 USC Faculty Lifetime Achievement Awards:

ELIGIBILITY: Retired faculty who have been full-time USC faculty members for a minimum of 10 years prior to retirement.

NOMINATION REQUIREMENTS: Nomination letter describing nominee’s accomplishments; nominee’s complete curriculum vitae; nomination form; two or more endorsement letters.

Contributions are evaluated on 7 criteria: teaching, research or artistic achievement, publications, university service, community/government service, professional organization contributions, awards/recognitions.

Descriptions for all 2019 Academic Honors Convocation honorees are listed here:
(Due to COVID-19, we did not yet honor our 2020 winners).

For a list of past Lifetime Achievement Award winners:

For more information, go to

Questions? Call (213) 740-7121 or email

2020 Recipients of the Faculty Lifetime Achievement Awards

Harry DeAngelo
Lois Banner
Ron Garet
Robert Scholtz

2019 Recipients of the Faculty Lifetime Achievement Awards

Guilbert Hentschke
Joel Schechter
Marcel Nimni
Richard Easterlin

For a list of previous years’ recipients, click here.

For the 2020 Faculty Academic Honors Convocation recording, click here.